top of page
  • teresaoking

Final Campaign

Updated: Apr 26, 2022


My name is Teresa King, I'm a first year Poli Sci student, and my project is focused on first gen advocacy. In my Part 1, I discussed various obstacles I faced just to gain entry to college and to get it financed. For example, I didn't have anyone to consult with on the college application and all that it entails like FAFSA, submitting test scores, financial aid, or applying for Honors. Additionally, I don't have any financial support for my tuition. And navigating this whole process alone and balancing course work, a job, and campus life on top of that can be overwhelming at times. In my Part 2, I discussed how I sometimes feel added pressure from my family to be the first one to succeed, and how they can be not as understanding as they try to be. Also, how I sometimes feel like an 'imposter' on campus because I don't have a long family tradition of going to college, I don't come from a similar background as many other students, and I don't have that ability to choose a career out of passion. I am fully choosing to go into law for the money. This leads to my Part 3, which mainly discusses the need to celebrate first gen accomplishment, create resources to mend that gap of inexperience, and discuss why first gen students don't need to carry that added pressure from family on their shoulders. For these reasons I chose to create an Instagram page focused on sharing first year college experiences and advice for students who cannot consult with their parents or relatives.

Account: @firstgen_survival guide

18 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page